Primary Elections Results

Last night, Florida made history as voters in House District 113 elected David Richardson, the state’s first, openly-gay state legislator!  In House District 49, Equality Florida field director Joe Saunders won in his primary, advancing to the general election where he will face a Republican candidate.  In House District 53, John Alvarez, an openly-gay member of the Florida GLBT Democratic Caucus, also won his primary and will face a Republican opponent in this year’s general election.  And further south, in House District 120, Ian Whitney ran uncontested and advances to the general election.

Closer to home, Democratic US Senator Bill Nelson will face Republican opponent Connie Mack in November, and pro-equality Commissioner Andrew Gillum retains his seat on the Tallahassee City Commission.  The results are clear – all throughout Florida, and especially in the Big Bend region, voters took to the polls with a determination to keep our communities on track.  If you voted, volunteered on a campaign, worked with your local Democratic Party, or contributed to the success of Democratic candidates, these victories belongs to you!

For more local election results, visit your local Supervisor of Elections website.

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

A Chartered Chapter of the Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus