Capital Equality Announces General Election Candidate Endorsements

On October 12, 2016, members of the Capital Equality Democratic Caucus voted to endorse the following candidates appearing on the General Election ballot on November 8th:

  • Hillary Rodham Clinton and Timothy Michael Kaine for President and Vice President
  • Patrick Murphy for United States Senator
  • Walter Dartland for Representative in Congress, District 2
  • Al Lawson for Representative in Congress, District 5
  • Bill Montford for State Senator, District 3 *
  • Loranne Ausley for State Representative, District 9 *
  • Akin Akinyemi for Leon County Property Appraiser *ǂ
  • Jackie Pons for Leon County Superintendent of Schools *
  • Mary Ann Lindley for Leon County Commissioner At Large, Group 1 *
  • Tabitha Frazier for Leon County Soil and Water Conservation District 3 *

* Denotes candidate dually-endorsed by Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus
ǂ Denotes active member of Capital Equality

“Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Floridians must continue to live in fear as Florida has failed to provide adequate protections under the law,” stated Capital Equality President Andy Janecek. “We must continue to elect pro-equality candidates up and down the ballot to ensure that all Floridians have an opportunity live their lives free of discrimination.”

The mission of the Capital Equality Democratic Caucus is to foster good will between gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and ally (GLBTA) members of the Democratic Party and the community at large. The organization seeks individual freedom in the framework of a just society and political freedom in the framework of meaningful participation by all citizens. For more information about the organization, visit

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

A Chartered Chapter of the Florida LGBTQ+ Democratic Caucus